Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    March 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

It’s Not Personal…

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on March 23, 2013


Do you ever struggle with giving someone feedback about their performance at work? I am talking about someone on your team that you are responsible for supervising, leading, managing, etc? What is it that makes it so challenging to just say it? Who are you helping by not giving the feedback? And who are you hurting?

Sometimes, we get in our own way because we make it personal. I am not saying that you should be impersonal, in fact some of my favorite direct supervisors have been my favorites because they seem to care on a personal level.

That said, I also appreciate honest feedback delivered with consideration. The more direct, the better it is to digest. If I could be better at something or if I have overstepped, I would want to know. Not knowing means I will repeat the pattern of behavior that could get in the way of my moving forward. If I am being careless or reckless, then chances are, I know that too. It’s possible I thought no one was noticing and I was sliding.

Having been in a position to give feedback to others in a variety of roles, I can say it gets easier over time, especially when you realize that you are helping the other person have a chance at being more successful in their role. It also helps your team be more successful. It sometimes feels hard to give the feedback because you don’t want to offend the person, hurt their feelings, have them be mad at you, have them talk bad about you, have them argue with you, and the list goes on.

When you get in this place, remember, it’s not personal. In fact, giving the feedback could be helpful to you both.

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts. Won’t you share yours?

Leave a Reply

 
