Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    December 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Facebook Fiction – The Story of You

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on December 31, 2012


..or is it? I have seen many posts by FB friends lamenting the glorious, fabulous, blessed lives of others. Some even say how tired they are of hearing about everyone else’s perfect lives. Can everyone really be that happy all the time? What really goes on after the deliriously happy log off??? Real life happens.

I am not saying that it is not possible for people to be as happy as they portray online. But not everyone treats their online presence in the same way. For some it is the Newsletter for their life…they share only the highlights and only the things they really want people to know. I have talked with friends who have very strict rules about what they will or will not post. One of my own rules is that I NEVER EVER write anything about my ex. For other people the online presence is a way to “out” their ex or even current partner to the world. I have my reasons, and they have theirs.

My point is, the online presence is a snapshot of what the person wants you to see, some of it real and some of it fiction. It would be dangerous to compare your own real life to the snippets of life shared by others. Just because someone might share only the good and only the highlights, does not mean that they don’t have significant challenges or fight with their partners, or have heavy crap happening in their lives.

Facebook and other online tools are a way for people to connect with each other, and no more. It is not an unabridged autobiography of the lives of the people using them.

Chin up for 2013! Compare yourself to your own goals. Take steps closer to the ones you want to achieve. JUST DO YOU in 2013!

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts. Won’t you share yours?

2 Responses to “Facebook Fiction – The Story of You”

  1. Love this! Thanks JJ!

  2. Claire nihan said

    So true JJ I like everyone else,have yucky stuff in my life. but I only post the things I am thankful for.i enjoy reading all the good things happening to everyone,somehow reading everyone’s blessings just makes me feel so happy. It puts a smile on my face. I hope everyone has a little something they can smile about. Peace and love to all for the new year 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
