Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    November 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  

Perspective Can Be Joyful

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on November 1, 2012


I recognize that changing the way you look at things doesn’t always fix the situation. That said, in some cases, it can make the difference between a good day and a bad day. I came across this quote on Twitter and now it is my new favorite: “The play was a great success, but the audience was a disaster.” -Oscar Wilde

Hilarious and yet grounding. What a happy place he has found for himself. On the same day I saw an interview with Taylor Swift where she talked about not reading reviews or stories about her, good or bad. She talked about how hurtful it can be and dangerous to her self-esteem. It was important to her to develop her own perspective. There are always going to be people who love you and people who don’t. She is focusing on her quality of life. She welcomes the joy.

Perspective is a powerful thing. You can look at a situation and get angry and stay in that space. When you do, how many people want to be around you? How productive is it and how does it help you? Is it healing? You can look at a situation and laugh, or be understanding or even try to take a high road. Even when I am having tension with my hubby, I am sometimes able to diffuse it by laughing or by looking at the big picture. The small moments do matter, but not as much as the bigger picture.

If I can go through my days thinking the audience was a disaster and appreciate my contributions, I think I will be happier if a little delusional…whatever makes me joyful.

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts. Won’t you share yours?

Leave a Reply

 
