Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    August 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  

My Plea to Facebookers and tweeters

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on August 10, 2012


Dear friends on Facebook and Twitter,

I thoroughly enjoy reading your updates and seeing pictures of you and your family. I even enjoy reading political posts or comments on controversial issues (even and especially when I do not agree).

That said, I am super challenged by posts where instead of promoting something (say your position on something or even your own happiness), some of you choose to tear others down. I know, I know, if I don’t like it, I can just unfriend people…but the truth is that sometimes the offenders are people I love and care about and don’t want to unfriend…some are even family. So I keep them to stay in touch and try to focus on the things about them I do appreciate. But the negativity lingers and makes an impression of who you are, even if you only do it periodically.

So I know I make my own choices, but here is my plea, stand up for what you believe in and who you are, and be careful not to tear others down to make your point, it makes you look bad and weakens your position. Be proud of whatever you believe in even if it is not popular and not main stream. I can more readily respect that and the poster of that than someone who may make a point that is marred in insults and nastiness towards another individual or group.

How you communicate, what you communicate and to whom you communicate is a choice you make every day. Once you say it, you can’t take it back. Just ask Olympians who have been kicked off of their teams and/or stripped of medals because of racist tweets.

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts. Won’t you share yours?

One Response to “My Plea to Facebookers and tweeters”

  1. Claire nihan said

    Well said!

Leave a Reply

 
