Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    July 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

A Touch of Class

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on July 30, 2012


I, like many people around the world, find myself glued to the TV at night competing in, ah-hem, I mean watching the Olympians compete. The adrenaline rush is incredible. Like it or not, the way the media covers a sporting event can make or break your experience. The wrong level of coverage or the wrong commentary can send you off the deep end.

So last night, as I was watching our USA women’s gymnastic team members compete for the two slots for the all-around competition, my heart both soared and broke as I saw two young women beam with happiness and one break down in tears at being so close and yet not make it. I cried with her. I cringed thinking about the media hounds who would pepper her with questions and who would not let her have privacy in such a devastating moment in her life.

Then, the media surprised me. They stepped back and let her gather herself. They focused on the positive and gave her permission to cry and to recover before interviewing her. I love the kind of class the Olympics bring out in people and wish it would translate to media coverage in the rest of our lives. I am lifted by their thoughtfulness and it makes her loss more human.

Here is sending thanks for the classy media coverage (at least last night!). The way the media covers a story is always a choice. Choices have impact.

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts. Won’t you share yours?

Leave a Reply

 
