Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    June 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

Your Status Updates Are a Reflection of You

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on June 25, 2012


I read this post from my good friend Marylin H. – “Funny how people lash out on their statuses, letting anger publicly get the best of them and in a second it shatters the image of who you’ve always perceived them to be. Think before you post, people! SMH”

How many times have you been on the fence about deleting someone from your list of facebook friends? I have read countless posts from people saying that “if you don’t like what I post, unfriend me, I would be happier without you in my life anyway.” I have taken their advice and done just that only to get another friend request from them saying, hey I thought we were connected before, but…

How would you respond? For me, if they are really good friends or family members, I have been brutally honest. I choose not to read this negativity or hostility on my page, and worse, it represents a person I do not know. In person they don’t talk like that (well mostly). So it is a shocker to read what they publish for the world to see.

Deep down, I think people really do care about what others think. Deep down, I think they do not know the damage they are doing to themselves. Saying they don’t care is just a defense mechanism.
With one of my younger family members (who was 14 at the time), I wrote her a message saying that I was considering deleting her as a friend and that I would appreciate a filter on her status updates. Her response was immediate. “Why, what did I do? What did I say?” so I called her and we had a productive conversation. Turned out, she and her friends actually DID talk like this to each other. It was a sad reality. She agreed to clean up her language and did a little, but the pressure to fit in was very strong and eventually I had to delete her.

Behavior like this is not restricted to 14 year olds or even girls, however. You only have to read the newsfeed at any given moment on any given day. You will see it.

And every now and then, as my friend Marylin points out, someone you wouldn’t expect it from gives into their anger and posts something truly horrible on their status update and you think…WOW…didn’t see that coming. It doesn’t matter if their anger is justified, it is the public nature of it.

What do your status updates say about you? How would you vet your anger before Facebook or Twitter? It is hard to erase an image once it is out there. Think before you post. Think past your anger of the moment. You aren’t only hurting the people you are blasting.

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts. Won’t you share yours?

One Response to “Your Status Updates Are a Reflection of You”

  1. Renee said

    I know exactly who you speak about.

Leave a Reply

 
