Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    June 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

My Top Ten

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on June 14, 2012


…reasons for getting a Master’s degree

One night while I was in the office late, staying there to do homework uninterrupted by life, my boss popped in. I was ripping my hair out…wishing that statistics could disappear and that by some miracle I could just skip the class.
He asked me why I was pushing through with so much going on in my life (and believe me, there was a lot).
In the moment, I couldn’t answer his question, I only knew that I HAD to do this.

A week later, I was sitting at a coffee shop, studying for my statistics mid-term and I questioned the wisdom of my path. So I put pen to paper and this is what I came up with (in no particular order):

1. It’s free (as an employee of the university, this is a benefit)
2. Credibility
3. Because I can and my parents could not
4. To make my parents proud
5. Because I am a statistic (Latina/female)
6. Because I wouldn’t get past HR for most of the positions that are posted on campus even though I would otherwise be qualified
7. “It’s too hard” is not a good enough excuse when I put it next to how hard my family members have had to work(especially my Dad)
8. I have been lucky so far in my career path, but there are no guarantees
9. Because the market is competitive
10. It is an escape and an opportunity to grow.

I am now a proud graduate of the McCormack Graduate School of Policy and Global Studies at UMass Boston.

Let’s just say, my educational journey is not done. While I do take my personal growth very seriously, I recognize that I am a statistic and that I have something available to me that others would do anything to have…a free education. It took me forever to pay off my undergraduate loans, so I definitely appreciate this.

I have this list on my wall at work as a reminder. A colleague suggested that I post it, so here it is.

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts. Won’t you share yours?

2 Responses to “My Top Ten”

  1. […] Posted on June 22, 2012 by AnnaGK Editor’s Note:  This post was originally published in Just Do You by blogger, Georgianna Meléndez, who recently graduated from UMass Boston with a Master’s of […]

  2. Mira said

    Fabulous. To be sure.

Leave a Reply

 
