Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    June 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

Celebrate yourself!

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on June 4, 2012



Do you ever feel like you are too old to celebrate yourself?  That at this age, parties, bbq’s and celebrations should be reserved for your children, nieces or nephews?  Do you feel silly calling attention to your accomplishments?

I hear ya… but, stop and allow yourself to imagine a world where you are free to celebrate yourself and you let people in your life who love and care about you celebrate you as well.  Chances are, your accomplishments are theirs as well.  Chances are, they have been with you through thick and thin.  Wouldn’t you want to celebrate with folks who can appreciate the significance of your accomplishments?

I struggled with this when planning my wedding this past year.  I really wanted a traditional celebration, shower, bachelorette party, church wedding and reception included.  But given that I was approaching 40, I was reluctant to give over to what felt like a “look at me” activity.  I was feeling too old.

But wait, I was marrying my best friend, and finding him was certainly a cause for celebration!  I couldn’t wait to share this with people who would share in my happiness.  Once I thought of it and gave over to the fun of it…I had a blast!  And looking back, I have no regrets and feel wrapped in the love that our guests brought with them.

This weekend, I celebrated finishing graduate school.  It was a celebration complete with a bouncy-house (I guess it was meant for the kids…lol)! 

We have so few chances as adults to celebrate our hard work, we should sieze the moment and not shy away worried that others will criticize or judge.  Sometimes we get in our own way. 

GET OUT OF YOUR OWN WAY! Resist the temptation to stifle your joy.

Let’s have fun celebrating YOU.  Please share some of your accomplishments and fun ways you celebrated ( no matter how big or small).

I don’t have the answers but I always have thoughts.  Won’t you share yours?

Leave a Reply

 
