Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    May 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

The Impact of Mentors

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on May 23, 2011


Sometimes we have people in our lives who give us informal advice, model behavior and feed our desire for growth and learning. We don’t always see them as mentors in the moment, but when we look back we recognize the role they have played in our lives. Sometimes we do that for others not thinking about it in a formal way.

Whether you have a formal or informal relationship with someone in this way, know that the lessons from a mentor last a lifetime. It can prepare you before you knew you needed that particular advice or could see how it might translate to other areas in your life. You could be a teacher, a neighbor, a parent, a coach, a supervisor or colleague, or someone that just happens to have formed a bond with someone.

I often think back to high school and the trouble I used to get into. I was a great student, but had other challenges that would get me in trouble at home. I remember being in a gym class and having the track coach identify me as someone with potential. Before that, I never seriously gave thought to joining any sports team. That relationship contributed to transforming my future…whether I was thinking about it at the time or not. My coach started me on the path I am still on.

I recently had a conversation with a corporate recruiter about their “preferred” candidates, the ones they think will likely have more success in the workplace than others. Having participated in competitive sports was on the top of the list. She said that it was more likely that the candidate with this background would be a better team player, have better collaborative skills, have leadership qualities that will help, and these candidates would likely understand hard work better than those who have not participated in sports… so I did a mental journey.

As a teenager, I wasn’t knowledgeable enough to know what I needed to make me a desirable candidate, to develop certain skills, to be prepared. I still find myself getting advice and working with mentors to help prepare me for whatever the world may bring. So please pay it forward if you have been helped, thank those who have helped you and keep an open mind about your future!

A special thanks to my mentors past and present: Coaches Phil, Neil, Erik and Adrian, thanks to Dorothy, Carmen, Deborah, Earl, Carolyn, Fred, Rosa, Steve

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts. Won’t you share yours?

Leave a Reply

 
