Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    May 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Dealing with Setbacks

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on May 18, 2011


Most of us have experienced setbacks in our personal and professional lives. Often when we are “in the moment”, we feel that this is disastrous to where we want to be and let the fear of it being a permanent setback keep us from doing what we need to do to overcome.

This is clearly a natural feeling. You are not the first or the last to be there. I am not trying to take away from what you feel or try to diminish the feelings you may have about it. I want to help you keep it in perspective.

No, you do not need to leave town to move past a setback, you do not need to hide and disappear. That won’t help and you will find that there is a network of people who have been where you are, no matter the kind of setback. (I am not attempting to address situations that involve illegal activities as that requires it’s own more complicated response). I do want you to think about past situations where you have felt stuck, depressed, disenchanted with prospects, alone and frustrated. Perhaps you are there now. What have you done in the past that can get you through the present?

Speaking only from my own lens and my own experience, I have drawn from those past experiences to help me keep perspective. When I was finally past feeling sorry for myself, which took longer than I think it should have (especially now looking back), I was able to make a plan.

For me the plan involved networking, getting out there, finding allies and friends. I overstated to myself how dismal my situation was. It turned out, it was really nothing in the grand scheme of things. To me, it was HUGE in the moment. I eventually was able to come up for air, reclaim my positive energy, my optimism, and my confidence. I am so grateful for having had a challenging setback since it taught me empathy, compassion and it taught me not to jump to conclusions. I always reach out when I see others struggling. It is good to not feel alone. I certainly wasn’t, but it took me some time to access my allies.

My thoughts on this…get out there and make a plan. Difficult as it may be, starting is the only way to move forward.

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts. Won’t you share yours? I would love to hear how you have gotten through setbacks that might be something others can learn from…

Leave a Reply

 
