Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    March 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Confidence is Sexy

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on March 21, 2011


Confidence is a sexy thing.  There is a big difference from being an egomaniac and a confident person.  Having confidence means that you trust yourself to make sound decisions.  It doesn’t mean that you will always be right.  It doesn’t even mean that you know what you are doing or talking about.  It is truly about knowing yourself and feeling good about who you are.

As I have written before, I have pretty much always been a confident person.  It could have something to do with moving around a lot and having new environments all of the time while I was growing up. It could have to do with the support and praise my family,  friends and teachers have given me along the way.

It doesn’t mean I am always confident and that there aren’t situations where I feel out of my depth, but I have essentially always had a basic trust of myself to make sound decisions.  That seems to scare some people, but more often than not, it inspires them.

An example of a situation where I did not feel so confident was when I was applying to be the Executive Director of a non-profit.  I was very young and applied at the urging of key people in my life.  I was shocked when I was offered the job.  In the conversation where I was made the offer, I asked the board chair if the board was sure about the offer and if they knew what they were doing!  I meant it too.  I kept waiting for someone to figure out they had made a huge mistake (and praying they would never figure it out).  I was torn between being overjoyed at this tremendous opportunity and a giant fear that they would find out I was a fraud (which of course, I was not).  I surrounded myself with smart people who helped me succeed and with the generous support of that board, in no time, I was truly feeling confident about being in that role.

Sometimes, confidence comes with time and experience.  It is hard to feel like you are not sure of yourself and that people will expect more of you than you are capable of giving.  I say, trust yourself.  Don’t do things that you really feel you are not capable of, but stretch yourself and take some risks.  That is how you learn about how far you can go. And when you fail, which happens, you learn from that and still grow.  I have refused to apply for jobs I was certain I could not do.  But if there was a chance I COULD handle it, then I tried to imagine myself there already.  If I could see it, then it was possible.

Give yourself a chance to grow.  Growing builds confidence and confidence is sexy.

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts.  Won’t you share yours?

Leave a Reply

 
