Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    November 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  

The Value of a Checklist

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on November 8, 2010


Ah, the procrastination theme!  So, what are your plans for the day? Not a planner? What is on your “to-do” list? Don’t have a written one? I am sure you at least have one in your head.

Ever wonder why you always seem to be so busy and yet you never quite get enough done?
I am a big believer in checklists. Always loved them. You might consider this cheating, but sometimes I am halfway through my day before I actually write things down on my checklist.  I write down things I have already finished, just so I can have the satisfaction of crossing it off the list. It gives me a sense of accomplishment.  Whatever works, right?
I really am not the most organized person in the world.  Somewhere along the line, I figured out that checklists serve several purposes for me.

1. Organization
2. Clarity
3. History
4. Opportunity to prioritize
5. Sense of accomplishment
It also helps me figure out what I have to do that I don’t want to do.  If something from yesterday’s list shows up on today’s and is still there at the end of the day for tomorrow, it tells me a couple of things.  Either it is not that important and it can wait, or I am not looking forward to it and am trying to avoid it.
But at least I know where I stand.
I recently read a fantastic book. I highly recommend that you read The Checklist Manifesto by Atul Gawande.  It is a non-fiction series of cases advocating for checklists as a way for us to be more efficient, save lives, save money and so on.  It is written in a way that anyone can follow and it is a fast read.
At the end of the day, we want all of those things and he says it much more articulately than I do.  I felt validated about having my checklists.
And when I bump up against the items that want to make a permanent home on my lists, I take a deep breathe and just get started on the thing that I have been avoiding.  The only way to really get there is to start.
I don’t have answers, but I always have thoughts.  Won’t you share yours?

 

One Response to “The Value of a Checklist”

  1. good molly Just Do You , i review your blog , that a nice blog and useful. Best for everyone. bulk Uncategorized and content. i going to often to read and review your site.

Leave a Reply

 
