Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    October 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Do It Anyway

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on October 26, 2010


Have you ever found yourself in a situation that called for someone to step up? You looked around the room and no one was doing it. You had the desire but you had more fear, so you didn’t?

So many of these opportunities come and go. Usually, after they have gone, we kick ourselves for not just going for it and taking a chance. You go over in your head how it would have played out.

So often we let fear rule us. We don’t always know why we are afraid. It could be that we are afraid of what others will say. It could be fear of failure. It could also be fear of success.

I am someone who has always taken risks. I can’t tell you why, only that I have always been that way. I remember an experience early on with a situation that called for someone to step up and I did.

I was involved in a program that was designed to build teams across all levels within an organization and to build a shared team philosophy around leadership. There was one particular session where a guest speaker gave the program attendees instructions for an exercise. She told us (something like 80-90 people) to get in order by our birth date. Then, she stepped away from the microphone with no opportunity for further questions. After a brief silence, the room started to buzz as people tried to figure out the best way to go about it.

I realized that someone needed to step up since there were too many different people in the room trying to figure it out. So I talked it over with another attendee and we walked up to the microphone and made a suggestion. Not only were people relieved to have direction, but they immediately moved to follow the instructions suggested. Well… most of them did.

The presenter asked the small group of non-followers, why they had not gone along with the group. One of them was the leader of my organization. She was also the first one to speak up. In fact, all of the people in the non-followers group were leaders of their respective organizations (though some other leaders did followed the larger group). Her response was “why should I follow her? Who is she to tell us what to do?”

???? I was surprised too.

When the group of followers was asked what made them follow, they mostly responded that they were grateful that someone did step up and the suggestion was a solid one that got the job done.

I wasn’t too rattled by my leaders response, just disappointed. Later that day, when we were walking to lunch she asked me if I was a middle child. I told her that I was (but was confused by her question). She immediately said, “ah, that explains your need for attention.”

I was frustrated by her attitude. But in the end, I kept on being me and didn’t let her assessment of me stop me from taking risks and learning new things. She eventually moved on to another agency and I steadily rose in my career.

I had many opportunities presented to me. I did my best to seize the moments and learn. I did not always succeed, but I always learned.  I was not always supported by my leaders, but I was supported by the right people in my life.

So I say GO FOR IT. Take a chance. Choose to lead and let others think what they will. It is your life after all.

I do not have the answers, but I always have thoughts.  Won’t you share yours?

One Response to “Do It Anyway”

  1. Anytime we hesitate to do anything it’s our comfort zone speaking to us. While it exists for a reason “danger ahead” it can regularly be counterproductive. Be conscious and manage your own comfort zone at all times. Verify if it’s assisting you or getting in your way.

    Thanks Georgianna Another beauty!!

Leave a Reply

 
