Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    August 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Going Through The Motions

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on August 25, 2010


Sound like you?  Every day when you get up, get out of bed, either deal with the kids if you have them and get them started and off to where-ever… or you get yourself off to where-ever and do what you are required to do again.  Boring and unnecessary.  I am talking about the “going through the motions” part.

We should each be able to embrace each day as a gift.  We should look forward to what we are doing, even if it is the simple task of getting our children ready for their day  (model the enthusiasm for life since it is contagious).

If you have ever lost someone who was truly dear to you, you know what I mean when I say that you have to appreciate the moment and the time.  I don’t mean that you should live as though your loved ones will die at any moment or as though you will die.  I am suggesting that you live each day in a way that you can reflect back and and say it was a worthwhile day.

I just came back from a camping trip with my kids (which explains the gap in blogging).  I have been going with my kids since they were born.  Yet, this is the first year my fifteen year old came back to the campsite every night saying “This was the best day ever!  I wish I could re-live it!”  I am not making this stuff up…it made me weepy-eyed.  There is nothing more rewarding than to see your children happy.  So each day he got up and looked forward to “re-living” his day. The difference?  (Besides the fact that I confiscated all media from him)…he made active choices about what he would do with his time and I did not interfere with his choices (glad they were all safe and healthy choices).  He made new friends and tried lots of new things.

I want to look back on each day of my life with THAT feeling.  It is a challenge to all of you as well!  Go to it!

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts,  Won’t you share yours?

2 Responses to “Going Through The Motions”

  1. “‘my fifteen year old came back to the campsite every night saying “This was the best day ever!'”

    There’s a powerful statement, from being in and enjoying the “moments”. Good for him. He’s got a great Mom.

    Thanks Georgianna

    P.S. No media? No coincidence.

  2. Israël said

    Thanks Georgianna,

    Thanks for Everything

Leave a Reply

 
