Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    July 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Be Truthful

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on July 29, 2010


“Be truthful: if you tell the truth,you don’t have to remember anything!”  Mark Twain

Need I say more?  Okay, possibly I do.  My mother quoted Mark Twain all through my teenage years…not sure if she knew this was his quote or not…maybe it was her own wisdom speaking.  Telling the truth guarantees that you don’t have to remember much.  It means that you can always speak from the heart, knowing that if you contradict yourself, it is because you have more information or that you have simply changed your position.

It means you never have to worry about getting caught.  It means keeping your integrity intact.

Even little white lies will cost you, even if it is only embarrassment, why pay the price?  You can never be truly free if you have to remember who you told what to and for what purpose.  It is surprisingly a heavy weight on your shoulders.

So many of the recovery programs (like the 12 step programs) are about being truthful.  There is something to that model and the reasons behind it.  Being truthful helps you let go of guilt, helps you have a clear head and allows you the freedom to be genuine in every situation.  Sometimes the truth can be painful to say and/or to receive.  Remember your filter (see the blog called “Get A Filter”).

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts.  Won’t you share yours?

5 Responses to “Be Truthful”

  1. Integrity is everything especially to oneself. Truthfulness, honesty and integrity share the same apartment and never go out without the others…

    Thanks Georgianna!!

  2. Bette S Baysinger said

    This is exactly how I feel about telling the truth, it is so much easier to remember, and in the future I can cleanly say, “I don’t remember exactly what I said, but whatever the record shows must be the truth because I tell the truth. Or “whatever the rules were, I followed them”, etc. And yes, truth can change as we get more information, so there is that.
    Love
    Bette

  3. Izz said

    Thanks for the article Georgianna! =)

    You’re very welcome

  4. Bette S Baysinger said

    My current email signature quote fits with this as well.

    “Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.”~Mahatma Gandhi

    I should probably look at your “Get a Filter” blog, since my goal is to remove filters. I need to go see what you mean when you say “filter” to see if it is the same thing that I mean when I say “filter.” 🙂
    Thank you.
    Love
    Bette

    • So true and I love that quote. What I did not write in my “Get A Filter” blog, I have written in an earlier blog as well may seem to contradict each other. Say what you mean and mean what you say is my motto. The filter is connected because we always have to think about “how” we say it. So I am agreeing with you that it is important to be upfront and open and I am advocating for being considerate and thinking about consequences. Make sense?
      Thank you for reading and for commenting!

Leave a Reply

 
