Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    July 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Take It Easy…

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on July 14, 2010


The wind was whipping my hair around, but the breeze was welcome in the humidity and heat.  I set my truck into cruise control as I settled in for a long ride to a destination that was going to bring a smile to my face.  It was a long ride, but the mission was fun and so was the company.

At first I wondered, am I crazy?  Am I really going to drive this far for this?  on a work night?  (you know I wanted to say school night…so hard to break that habit).  Yet, there I was, with a bottle of water in the cup holder, the music playing and my sweetie holding my hand.

I can’t remember ever driving so far for anything that wasn’t crisis oriented.  I had an internal debate and then an external one.  My sweetie laughed at me and said, “so what, life is short.”  So there we were and there we went.  I let it go along with the self-created stress.

It wouldn’t be far-fetched to say we went to Canada and back to complete our mission.  It had an element of excitement too because it was a race against the clock.  One traffic jam, one wrong turn and all of that driving would have been for nothing.  Hence, some of my stress.  Again, my sweetie said, “who cares?  We have each other’s company and a great view.  If it is meant to be, it will be.”

I thought, is he crazy?  All this way and come up empty handed?!  I am a mission driven kind of girl!  Doesn’t he know that?  With his teasing, I eventually let it go and let myself get lost in conversation and sometimes very nice comfortable silences.  Did I mention it was a long drive?

When was the last time you just sat back and took it easy?  Didn’t worry about timelines or outcomes?  When was the last time you really just enjoyed the company of your partner, family or friends?  It was a refreshing reminder…and I need them often.

The fruit of our journey?  My new iPad!!!  Yeah!  Oh, and precious time with the one I love…  that’s what I meant to say first (wink).

Leave a Reply

 
