Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    May 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Integrity Matters

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on May 10, 2010


It truly makes a difference to know that you are interacting with someone who has integrity.  This is true for family, friends, co-workers, bosses, politicians and community/business leaders.  Nothing is worse than not being able to decide  if you believe what someone is telling you, promising you or showing you.  It is risky if your decision has consequences that could be harmful.  Like if someone promises to do something (like pick your kids up from school and then doesn’t).

I talked with someone last week who I have known just for the past 8 months or so.  We have had some classes together and I always like what she has to say even if I do not always agree with her.  In one particular class, she made a statement I did not agree with and backed it up strongly.  We bumped into each other outside of class and she pulled me aside to clarify something she had said in class.

She was concerned that she had misrepresentd herself in order to make a point.  Her statement that backed up her point while true in the moment was not a true representation of her larger picture.  But it sounded good when she said it.  At the end of the day, if she hadn’t clarified/corrected her statement, I would not have known and no major disaster would have happened as a result.

I appreciated that she was thoughtful about what she puts out in the world.  My opinion of her only improved with that interaction.  I think we will still agree to disagree on her point in that class, but I will always know I can take her word at face value.  That matters.  Integrity matters.

Is your integrity intact?

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts.

One Response to “Integrity Matters”

  1. Philip said

    I like this, I mean how often these days do you take what someone says with a grain of salt because their actions are completely different than what they are telling you. Integrity is something that you make or break for yourself, it’s something that cannot be taken from you. In moral terms I suppose since we’re all different we all have different views of what good integrity is. But I also believe that being taken for your word at face value is something that’s important to just about everyone. This was a good topic today Georgianna! Thanks..

Leave a Reply

 
