Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    May 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Putting Yourself Out There…With Purpose

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on May 6, 2010


When I hear the phrase “putting yourself out there,” I usually think of it in negative terms (though I know it means many things to many people).  For me, it’s something like putting your dirty laundry out for the world to see.  In my book, it’s a no-no.

I know many of you can relate.  How many of you have read facebook or other social media postings and thought, “Wow!  I can’t believe they put their business out there like that.”  I have read some where I felt compelled to email the “poster” about my concern.  Sometimes it was because my other friends could read their posting and it made me uncomfortable and sometimes I was just concerned for them (be it language or sharing too much personal information).

People develop definite and often permanent opinions about who you are.  So why not “put yourself out there” with purpose?  Create an impression you want people to have about you based on who you are (and not in your weak and frustrated moments).

It is no accident that many (including me) have turned to social media to share messages, to start businesses and to reconnect or connect with new people.  It is a relationship tool.  And it is all in how you use it.

So, be conscientious of what you put out there, the impressions it creates and the possible unintended consequences.

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts.

Leave a Reply

 
