Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    May 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Not Everyone Thinks Like You

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on May 5, 2010


Shocker, I know.  Actually, I am reacting to a group conversation where I thought most people were like-minded.  Despite knowing that people are usually all over the map about just about everything, I was shocked at how far apart we all were.

I am about to open a can of worms here, but so be it…

I was having a conversation with a small group about the new Arizona law.  Without going into detail here about who said what, suffice it to say that it was absolutely shocking to hear different perspectives on this.  In the end it was a rich discussion and I learned a lot.  I did not change my position, but I certainly learned.

Once upon a time, I would have been so rattled by some of the strong opinions that were so different from my own.  These conversations are often emotional.  I have such a solid belief in my position that the law is wrong and harmful that I would not have previously been able to even entertain conversation with folks who were equally strong on the opposite side.  It would have stressed me out, made my neck hurt…

Time and experience have taught me the value of listening to others so that I can have a sense of where they are coming from, why they think the way that they do and get a sense of what I would be up against if it were an issue that I wanted to take on as an advocate (which I have done frequently over the years).  In the past, having these conversations has actually helped to make me change my mind.  Information is powerful stuff.

Now while I firmly stand on the side of the Arizona law being wrong, I am so glad we were able to have true and open discussion without leaving any scars in the process (thank you to the friends in this conversation).

Not everyone thinks like you.  Are you open to hearing the thoughts of others?  It is something we can all work on.  Never underestimate the power of listening.  We can choose not to listen and we will never know how things might be different.

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts.

Leave a Reply

 
