Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    May 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

With Little Provocation…courtesy goes out the window

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on May 3, 2010


Over bottled water?  So for those of you readers who do not live in Massachusetts, 30 communities are under a boil water order.  Yesterday, in a fabulous display of caring about their neighbor, some folks started fist fights over buying bottled water.  All of the BJ’s and Supermarkets have emptied their shelves.  Mind you, the boil water order is projected to last only a couple of days and in most communities, there is running water.  So I ask, why the violence?

It gets like this too when we are projected to have over 12 inches of snow or some form of abnormal weather.  I get it that people want to be prepared.  But these are the times when we should be looking out for each other.  We should make sure that our neighbors have what they need and that those who are not physically or otherwise able, have what they need.  Instead, some people beat each other up.

You can really tell a lot about a person by looking at their behavior in stressful circumstances.  None of us are perfect, so I am not suggesting that at all.  I am suggesting that when we have time to reflect on those moments, that we try to learn something about ourselves.  If we look back and are not proud of ourselves, then we think through what we would do differently next time.  Yes, life will always throw new challenges at us and so yes, I do believe we will get a chance to redeem ourselves to ourselves.

I am not always proud of myself, in particular during my commute to work.  (Ha ha and I KNOW I am not alone in this)!   I find myself getting irrationally angry at some drivers.  The ones who switch lanes without using their signal and then you see that they are both on their cell phone and eating breakfast…those are my favorites.  But how does my personal anger change the situation?

It doesn’t.

I can choose to beep and yell and raise my blood pressure, I could let it go, I could write a letter to my legislator asking for laws related to this (though personally, I hesitate to involve government in regulating this kind of thing).  But the point is, I have a choice.  There are many mornings when I find myself chastising myself for getting angry over something I cannot control.

Todays’ message is about remembering common courtesy.  Behave in a way that you can be proud of and in a way that shows courtesy and compassion.  Even if it wasn’t you at the Revere BJ’s, is there an opportunity for you to stop and reflect?

I don’t have the answers, but I always have thoughts.

2 Responses to “With Little Provocation…courtesy goes out the window”

  1. Philip said

    I agree here, most places could definitely use a little more courtesy and compassion, and Massachusetts in particular appears to be lacking in both these days. I did find myself laughing at the cell phone/food eater changing lanes because it seems to be a common theme during our commutes these days, so thanks for that.

  2. I couldn’t agree more. One of my favorite quotes is by James Allen who said “Circumstances do not make the man, they reveal him”. Great post!

Leave a Reply

 
