Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    April 2010
    M T W T F S S
        May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  

Be Yourself

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on April 14, 2010


Don’t be afraid to be yourself. A lot of times when we get stuck, we get stuck because we are preoccupied with what others think of us. Of course it is always nice to have approval, but it can get in our way.

Sometimes we want to try something new but it is a completely new thing and perhaps could be shocking to others, so we don’t. For example, we want to write a romance novel/sci-fi novel/murder mystery. We get stuck moving it along because we worry about how others will interpret that and then label us.

I mean, how many people think Stephen King is creepy? Have you read his stuff? It’s sick and it is also genius (in my humble opinion). I read everything he writes. Does that make him sick or does it make me creepy for reading it? Think about it.

It is definitely not for everybody. I bet people expect his house to have cobwebs in every corner, hidden weapons and ghosts floating around. Where does he draw his inspiration from? How did he get over worrying about what others think about him? I, for one, am glad he let his creativity out for us to enjoy.

It is definitely a risk to put yourself out there like that, but it can also be rewarding. You are your own audience. If others like it, bonus. If it generates income, double bonus.

Are there geniuses out there holding themselves back for fear of what others will think? Are you one of them?

2 Responses to “Be Yourself”

  1. cheryl said

    Hi Georgianna, I’m 43 years old and I still worry about what others think. I am currently trying to rebuild my life after separating from my husband of 12 years. I met him when I was 21, insecure, and didn’t really know myself. I always tried to please him. I’ve defined myself as a mother, wife, and nurse. I don’t know where to begin finding myself because I spent all of my adult life trying to make others happy. I don’t know how to make me happy. Any advice???? Sincerely, Lost……

    • Dear Lost,

      I have been thinking about your question all day. I was reminded of a quote I had read somewhere and applied to my own life. The quote recommended that you don’t find yourself, you create yourself. We all wear so many hats that it is impossible to define ourselves by one of them and they are constantly changing. The question for you would be, what would you do if no one was going to give you negative feedback or discourage you (even if well-intentioned)? How would your life moving forward be if you only had you to make happy? Then the next question is, what is getting in your way of going for that? Caring about what other people think is natural and often unavoidable. It is an automatic response for most of us. Figuring out how to move to a more reflective and thoughtful response mode takes work. I have talked with a therapist off and on over the years. Therapists are great because they are there to help you accomplish a goal that you set. It’s just a thought. In the meantime, I have just read this book for a class that discusses in great detail how we are influenced by the opinions of others. I recommend it. It is not a self-help book, but it is eye opening in a lot of ways. It is called “Nudge” by Richard Thaler and Cass Sunstein.
      I hope this helps. Does anyone else have thoughts for Lost?

Leave a Reply

 
