Just Do You

Because we always have choices…

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Share With Others

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • To View Older Blogs From Blogger.com

    http://georgiannasaysjustdoyou.blogspot.com
  • Categories

  • 2010 to Present

    April 2010
    M T W T F S S
        May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  

You Can Never Be Too Good or Too Giving

Posted by georgiannasaysjustdoyou on April 12, 2010


I finally got around to watching “The Blind Side” this weekend. It’s the Oscar winning movie with Sandra Bullock, Tim McGraw and Quinton Aaron, and the story of Michael Oher. As much as I enjoy football, I honestly couldn’t even be considered a fan. I know only a handful of the names of players and most of them are Patriots. So, my lens in watching this movie was thinking it a fictional story.
I was touched and inspired by the Christian values that were at play but at some points, I wondered if the story went too far in showing how giving this family was towards the main character. It almost seemed like a level of “super-Christian” that most want to achieve but cannot. I even said to my friend who was watching it with me that it was a bit unrealistic even though it was nice. It was what you would hope to see in a Christian family…people you want to be around.
This movie made me laugh and cry. I completely got it when Sandra had an internal meltdown of sadness when “Michael” said he had never had a bed before just after she chatted away about her shopping experience and how she tossed the frame for a nicer one, etc…inadvertently flaunting her privilege. It is a reminder that we take so much for granted. Many of us who live in the U.S. have way more than we need even if we are not financially rich. And yet, we live in a country that is full of poverty and need. Like in this movie, extreme levels of poverty is often within miles of where we live. It does not take a millionaire to be giving and it does not mean that you have to adopt a person in the way this family was able to do. And usually I would say, you don’t have be a Democrat, but if you haven’t seen the movie, you won’t get it when I say, you don’t have to be a Republican…Any can help, everyone should.
Sandra’s character also did something I feared she would not do in the movie. She challenged her friends on their “stuff,” even telling one of them “Shame on you.” It is something we do not do enough of considering the experiences of many of us and many of our neighbors.
If we all lived in a world like the family in this film, it would certainly be a better place. Give because you can, love because you can, be open, genuine and kind. I would add to be intolerant of bad behavior in your circles. This goes beyond not participating in bad behavior, but calling your circle on it as it happens.
I don’t have answers, but I always have thoughts.

Leave a Reply

 
